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Agency name Board of Physical Therapy, Department of Health Professions 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation  

 18VAC112-20-10 et seq. 

Regulation title Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy 

Action title One-time reduction in renewal fees 

Final agency action date 8/19/05 

Document preparation date 8/19/05 
 
When a regulatory action is exempt from executive branch review pursuant to § 2.2-4002 or § 2.2-4006 of the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (APA), the agency is encouraged to provide information to the public on the Regulatory 
Town Hall using this form.   
 
Note:  While posting this form on the Town Hall is optional, the agency must comply with requirements of the Virginia 
Register Act, the Virginia Register Form, Style, and Procedure Manual, and Executive Orders 21 (02) and 58 (99).  
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Please provide a brief summary of all regulatory changes, including the rationale behind such changes.  
Alert the reader to all substantive matters or changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing 
regulation. 
                
 
In order to reduce an accumulated surplus in the budget of the Board of Physical Therapy, a one-
time reduction in renewal fees has been adopted.  The renewal fee for physical therapists will be 
reduced for the biennial renewal from $135 to $60, and for physical therapist assistants, the 
renewal fee will be reduced from $70 to $30.  Fees for inactive licensure (which are 
approximately one-half the active renewal fee) are reduced correspondingly.  The application fee 
for physical therapist assistant is being permanently reduced from $105 to $100. 
 
The Board is also amending the renewal deadline from biennially in the licensee’s birth month to 
biennially on December 31st of even years in order to simplify the renewal process and the 
performance of audits for continuing education compliance.  The amendment will result in a 
benefit for licensees of one to eleven months delay in the time for paying the renewal fee (i.e., a 
licensee whose birth month is January would, in effect, have a free license until the renewal fee 
is due by December 31, 2006). 
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This action is exempt from the Virginia Administrative Process Act in § 2.2-4006 A 7: 
“ Regulations of the regulatory boards served by (i) the Department of Labor and Industry 
pursuant to Title 40.1 and (ii) the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or 
the Department of Health Professions pursuant to Title 54.1 that are limited to reducing fees 
charged to regulants and applicants.”   
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Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including (1) the date the action was 
taken, (2) the name of the agency taking the action, and (3) the title of the regulation. 
                
 
On August 19, 2005, the Board of Physical Therapy amended 18VAC112-20-10 et seq., 
Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy for a one-time reduction in renewal fees 
and inactive fees for renewal for from January 1, 2006 through December 31, 2006 and for a 
change in the biennial renewal schedule. 
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Assess the impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability.  
               
 
There is no impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability. 
 
 


